top of page
Search
Writer's pictureMichele Channels

Perfectly not Perfect



So was just taking a shower when I had an epiphany, I’m a perfectionist. Did I know this before? Yes on some level, but I mostly thought it was a good thing. To have high standards and only aspire for the best of everything. Sometimes that’s ok in its place, but the problem I have with being a perfectionist is that I hate and judge everything and everyone who isn’t, but mostly I judge myself. That might sound a little extreme and it probably is a little but for arguments sake I’ll go with it for now.

So I decided to acknowledge all the things I hate by loving them.

So here goes. I love my imperfect head and my imperfect hair and my imperfect face and my imperfect lips and my imperfect eyes and my imperfect neck and my imperfect breasts and my imperfect stomach and my imperfect legs and imperfect feet, and my imperfect response to things that hurt me and my imperfect timing to creating what I want, and my imperfect health and my imperfect way I take care of myself and my imperfect relationships intimate and otherwise. My imperfect honesty and imperfect teaching and imperfect communication and my imperfect fear and imperfect anxiety and my imperfect family, the list goes on but you get the idea. I love it all.

A probable response would be but you are perfect just as you are, but I’m going to be ok with being imperfect just the way I am.

We didn’t come here to be perfect we came here to learn have different experiences and grow. As long as we are judging ourselves and others for our evolvement we are delaying it and everyone else’s awakening. But first we must start with ourselves and the rest will be easy.





13 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page